Article | Onlythebeat

Firepower Records to Release 'Caffeine' EP From MUST DIE! April 9

Friday, April 05, 2013

caffeine ep must die MUST DIE! is back with the release of his new EP 'Caffeine' which will be released on Firepower Records, April 9th.  The 21-year-old bass producer out of Atlanta was recently displayed his talent with his remix of 'Menace' off of Protohype's new EP 'See No Evil', and now becomes an official member of the Firepower Records family.  In this six-track EP, MUST DIE! will touch on some of the darker roots and will, without question, start to gain massive attention after it. “The Arena” opens the EP on a wave of warm tones and reverberating synths before the tranquil, dreamlike sequence then collides with layers of sharp drums that playfully build towards the title track.“Caffeine” follows with its cascading drums and cut-up, re-pitched vocals. Pivoting around its bright chord sequence, the stadium-sized melody of “Caffeine” unwinds into an almighty bass drop. Up next, the lush synths of “Skull Kids” lull the listener into a false sense of security that soon unravels with the release of a frenzied, electro breakdown before “Wide World” provides a change of pace, playing off its dub skank against shimmering, 8-bit melodies before reaching its bass-wielding climax. MUST DIE! is joined by Jaws of Terravita on “Symmetry,” upping the pace on this techy drum and bass roller. Driven by its powerhouse drums and warping bassline, the sinewy strings and rapid-fire lyrics complete this dramatic club track. Ending on a very different note, MUST DIE! closes the EP with“Nightwatch,” a carefully crafted orchestral arrangement that is as evocative as it is brave, proving the depths of MUST DIE!’s talents. Tracklist for 'Caffeine' EP: 1. The Arena 2. Caffeine 3. Skull Kid 4. Wide World 5. Symmetry (ft. The Jaws of Terravita) 6. Nightwatch