VONYC Sessions 2012 Presented by Paul van Dyk


The last 365 days have formed a year to remember for electronic music artisan Paul van Dyk. Inside that time he completed production on his long awaited,corner-turning sixth album, which in turn unlocked a new trove of PvD music. These he’s used to power his extraordinary globe-spanning EVOLUTION stage performances and, of course, his now iconic radio show, VONYC Sessions.

This December van Dyk will leave his final musical mark on the year, with the release of the fourth instalment of the radio broadcast’s mix annual. Featuring the cream of the audio it championed over the last 12 months, it includes tracks from Cosmic Gate, Orjan Nilsen, Tritonal, Judge Jules and of course much from the master himself… This is the year that was. This is ‘VONYC Sessions 2012’.

Life is busy for all of us. Whatever we do, there’s seldom enough chance to think about what happened last month, let alone a whole year. For me the annual ‘VONYC Sessions’ provides that rarest of opportunities – a moment to look back and relive some truly great memories through the power of its best music. I hope you enjoy listening as much as enjoyed compiling and mixing it!– Paul van Dyk, Berlin, November 2012


Week by week, over the last 52, the playlists of VONYC Sessions have built up a picture of another boundary-breaking, standout year of electronic dance music. To encapsulate it van Dyk has draw together the tracks that have generated the most heat on his floors, the most buzz on VONYC Sessions Show and fashioned them into a pair of thrilling, year-honouring mixes.


Heading straight into the thick of the action, Disc One lines up the punch-packing drum structure of Orjan Nilsen’s ‘Endymion’, Lisa Lashes’ tech-threat ‘The Bends’ and Protoculture’s crowd-wowing ‘Cobalt’. Working the mix in masterful peaks and drops, he tempers its tone with the stargazing sounds of Ost & Meyer’s ‘Safari’ and the celestial-ism of Starshifters’ ‘Driveby’. As you’d expect from the double disc compilation, it draws plenty of resource from VANDIT Recordings’ class of 2012. In and amongst them are the razor-sharp synths of Judge Jules ‘The Attack’, (cited by Paul as his ‘favourite track of 2012’), Maarten de Jong’s blood-pumping trancer ‘RAW’ and Sean Tyas and Giuseppe Ottaviani spirited, elevating ‘Arcobaleno’.

Naturally with the release of ‘EVOLUTION’ – his first artist album year in five years – the VONYC Sessions’ tracklists have been supremely stocked with PvD’s own material. From the castaway beauty of ‘The Ocean’, to the unstoppably uplifting ‘Eternity’, its tracks thread the two mixes. The endemic, from-Miami-to-Ibiza EDM of ‘Verano’ (here in its ‘Such A Feeling’ vocal form) to the vocal ache of Plumb’s ‘I Don’t Deserve You’ and the lovers lament of Mix-2 close-out ‘Lost In Berlin, they soundtrack an incredible year.

With ‘Stone Pony’, VANDIT’s latest hot-pick signing Las Salinas’ strike an early harmonic note for the second of ‘VONYC Sessions 2012’s discs. With its low-slung bass, whip-cracking FX and tight percussive loops, the Israeli duo provides a progressive induction to the mix. PvD fully ignites its engines, bringing in the vocal reach of JES (on Cosmic Gate ‘Flying Blind’); channels trancestep with Tritonal’s ‘Slave’ and makes room for more melodic vistas with Jaco’s epic ‘Malaysia’. The breakbeat/dubstep breakdown and killer vocal hook of Jules and Dale Corderoy club rocker ‘Give Me A Reason’ charges the mid-section, whilst at its summit, the poignant vocals of Amba Shepherd on Giuseppe Ottaviani ‘Lost For Words’ finally splits this ‘Session’s atom.

Over 31 tracks PvD picks out the brightest track stars in 2012’s musical galaxy and recalls the year that was. The ultimate Christmas gift for EDMophiles the world over, it’s available thorough all good musical retailors on December 14th.

Tracklist CD 1

Paul van Dyk ft. PlumbI Don’t Deserve YouRemix Mashup
Manuel De La Mare & Alex KenjiAcid as 303Original Club Mix
Orjan NilsenEndymionOriginal Mix
Maarten de JongRawOriginal Mix
Lisa LashesThe BendsHeatbeat Remix
Sean Tyas &  Giuseppe OttavianiArcobalenoClassic Mix
Ost & MeyerSafariOriginal Mix
Andrew Bayer & Matt Lange ft. Kerry LevaIn And Out Of PhaseOriginal Mix
Jerome Isma-ae ft. Zoo ArmyMy Breath Has Been TakenInstrumental Mix
Judge JulesThe AttackOriginal Mix
F.L.X.InitiationOriginal Mix
Dave Silcox & Matt Nash ft. Chris WarneChange My WorldOriginal Mix
Paul van Dyk ft. Adam YoungEternityPaul van Dyk & Alex M.O.R.P.H. Club Mix
ProtocultureCobaltOriginal Mix
Suncatcher & Mihai M pres. StarshiftersDrivebyOriginal Mix


Tracklist CD 2

Forgotten ft. Blackfeel WhiteEarthAbstract Vision & Elite Electronic Dub Mix
Cosmic Gate & JESFlying BlindTom Fall Remix
Egorythm & MarsbeingInhaleOriginal Mix
Paul van Dyk ft. Austin Leeds & Elijah KingSuch A FeelingAlex M.O.R.P.H. Remix
Las SalinasStone PonyOriginal Mix
Sequentia & JacoCrossfireOriginal Mix
GenixMomentsOriginal Mix
TritonalSlaveBen Gold Club Dub
Corderoy & Judge JulesGive Me A ReasonOriginal Mix
Nitrous OxideTiburonOriginal Mix
Noah NeimanThey Have Laser EyesOriginal Mix
JacoMalaysiaOriginal Mix
Stonevalley ft. Shannon HurleySomething To SayJohan Malmgren Dub Remix
Giuseppe Ottaviani ft. Amba ShepherdLost For WordsClub Mix
Paul van Dyk ft. ArtyThe OceanLas Salinas Remix
Paul van Dyk ft. Michelle LeonardLost In BerlinGiuseppe Ottaviani Remix

Check out Paul Van Dyk’s latest video, “I dont deserve you” right here on OTB!

[youtube id=”ZpeJhS8POtM” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Pre order at iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/vonyc-sessions-2012-presented/id580502328


For news and more info visit:







Always play to your audience 🙂
↑ Back to top
Show Comments