Article | Onlythebeat

SubSoul to Release Compilation June 16

Monday, June 03, 2013



JUNE 16, 2013


After several years of heavyweight bass dominance, the world’s floors are beginning to dance to a different drum. The once-ubiquitous chop-slapping drops have switched to sexier rhythms and deeper, grooves. Make no mistake, the bass game is changing… and SubSoul is leading the charge. It's a cool fusion of house music’s stately spirit, alluring soulful vocals, rich warm chords and classic garage sophistication, all wrapped up in contemporary low-end techniques. What began in London is now sweeping out across the UK and beyond. Established in 2011 with over 9 million views to their name so far, SubSoul was the first brand to truly celebrate and encourage this sound. Uniting the creative artists behind the new movement, SubSoul is home to the next generation of exciting young artists. From Top 10 charting artists such as Disclosure and Rudimental to rapidly emerging players such as Gorgon City, Ben Pearce, and Toyboy & Robin, SubSoul is home to tomorrow’s premier league. Delving deep and exploring dance music’s sturdiest roots, the SubSoul sound is just as stimulated by the soulful New York grooves laid down by house forefathers such as MK and Masters At Work as it is by London’s deep n’ dirty garage rhythms. Their free monthly Vibe Bar sessions in East London have become an essential staple for London’s most enthusiastic party people, from industry insiders to clued-up audio aficionados. SubSoul parties are also popping up across the UK, taking over back rooms, basements and terraces from Bristol to Glasgow to Nottingham. This summer will also see them add to Ibiza’s rich house history with 16 exclusive dates, each Wednesday throughout the summer at Ocean Beach. Plus the brand will also be heading to the now legendary Croatian coast for some high profile festival action. For a full flavoured SubSoul experience, look no further than their eponymous debut compilation. Celebrating the brand’s spirit and successes with suitable sonic sophistication, the 22 track collection features some of the brand’s longest standing friends and new faces alike; Disclosure, Dusky, Justin Martin, Kidnap Kid, George Fitzgerald, Breach (Dirtybird)… The list goes on. It’s also home to three exclusives you will not find anywhere else from Toyboy & Robin, The Golden Boy and Joey McCrilley


1. Various Artists – SubSoul (Continuous Mix)

2. Gorgon City Feat. Yasmin – Real

3. Artful Dodger Feat. Lifford – Please Don’t Turn Me On (Disclosure Remix)

4. Toyboy & Robin – What Ya Wanna Do

5. Justin Martin – Don’t Go (Dusky Remix)

6. Huxley – Lost Love

7. Breach – Jack

8. Shadow Child Feat. Tymer – 23

9. Dusky – Nobody Else

10. Josh Butler – Got A Feeling

11. Kidnap Kid – So Close (Club Mix)

12. XXXY – Got Me So

13. Real Connoisseur – Down With Me

14. Joey Mccrilley – Faux Pa

15. The Golden Boy – Taking Me

16. Animist – Tin Head (Marcus Jakes Remix)

17. Wilkinson – Take You Higher (Foamo Remix)

18. George FitzGerald – Thinking Of You

19. Teknian – You Make Me So

20. Codec – Your Always

21. Hannah Wants & Chris Lorenzo – Dappy

22. Citizen – So Submissive

23. The Golden Boy – Do You

24. Various Artists – Digital Booklet (SubSoul)